Metro Home Mayor's Office Metro Council Online Services Help

Insurance Violations

INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT TENNESSEE’S FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAWS (T.C.A. §55-12-139 - 140)

NOTE: If you hold a commercial driver’s license issued in any state, you are not eligible to attend Defensive Driving classes per 49 C.F.R. §384.226 and T.C.A. §55-10-301(c). 49 C.F.R. §384.226 also does not allow for the nullification of moving or non-moving traffic violations. This applies regardless of the type of vehicle being operated at the time of the violation. Use our Traffic Ticket Pricing Wizard or our Quick Price And Pay page to determine the amount owed on your ticket.

Which of these two cases apply to you?

  1. You had valid insurance when you were cited for the violation.
  2. A. Provide Proof of Valid Insurance

    If you provide proof to the Traffic Violations Bureau on or before your Compliance Date that you had current, valid motor vehicle insurance in your name when the ticket was issued, your insurance violation will be nullified/dismissed without having to pay a nullification fee.

    Result of Showing Proof.
    Your license will not be suspended by the Department of Safety due to this infraction and you will not have a STOP placed on your Vehicle Registration Renewal.

    B. Pay the Fine/Fee

    The fine/fee amount for an insurance violation on a ticket issued BEFORE 7/1/2011 is $50.00. If your ticket was issued ON OR AFTER 7/1/2011, the fine/fee amount is $63.75. This amount must be paid on or before your Compliance Date.

    Result of Paying the Original Fine/Fee.
    The Department of Safety will suspend your driving privileges until you meet all of the requirements necessary for reinstatement by the Tennessee Department of Safety.

  1. You did not have valid insurance when you were cited for the violation.
  2. A. Pay the Fine/Fee

    Due to change in legislation effective July 1, 2009, if you were cited for not having proof of insurance in your vehicle and you did not have valid motor vehicle insurance in your name at the time the ticket was issued, the Clerk's Office does not have the authority to nullify the offense. You must pay the fine/fee, along with any other fines/fees and Court costs due on or before your Compliance Date. The amount due for an insurance violation issued BEFORE 7/1/2011 is $50.00. If your ticket was written ON OR AFTER 7/1/2011, the fine/fee amount increases to $63.75.

    Result of Paying the Original Fine/Fee.
    Your driving privileges will be suspended by the Tennessee Department of Safety until you meet all of the requirements necessary for reinstatement by the Tennessee Department of Safety.



The contact information for the Department of Safety is as follows:

Tennessee Department of Safety
Financial Responsibility Division
P.O. Box 945
Nashville, TN 37202
(615) 741-3954

The Traffic Violation Bureau cannot accept proof of insurance after your Compliance Date has passed.

For more information regarding Tennessee’s insurance laws, you may visit the Department of Safety’s Financial Responsibility Web site.